Academic Entities

The National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (NASU) is the highest government research body in Ukraine and one of the six state academies. It operates many research institutions, primarily in the fundamental sciences but also in humanities. The Academy has "state-agency" status, but is self-governing in decisions related to its own activities.

The Academy has six Regional Science Centers, which are also subordinated to the Ministry of Education and Science of Ukraine. Their activities are aimed toward promoting the research and development potential of the respective regions and focusing scientists' efforts on addressing priority regional issues. The basic elements in NASU structure are research institutes and other similar institutions. Their activities are guided by their own statutes, approved and registered by the NASU.

List of Acdemic Entities

Organisation Name Website Address Organisation Location
Coal Energy Technology Institute Kyiv, Ukraine
Gas Institute Kyiv, Ukraine
Institute of Engineering Thermophysics www.ittf.kievua Kyiv, Ukraine
Institute of General Energy www.ienergy.kievua Kyiv, Ukraine
Institute of Geology and Geochemistry of Combustible Minerals Lviv
Institute of Renewable Energy Kyiv, Ukraine
Ukrainian Research Institute of Forestry & Forest Melioration Kharkiv